State Authorization Regulations

The State Authorization regulations were published by the USDOE in the Federal Register (Chapter 34, § 600.9(c)). They require that all institutions seek authorization in every state (and territory) in which they “operate” in order to maintain eligibility for federal financial aid. These regulations specifically include online degree programs.

SARA (State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements)

Effective September 16, 2015, Case Western Reserve University was approved by the Ohio Department of Higher Education to participate in the National Council for State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements (NC-SARA). NC-SARA is a voluntary, regional approach to state oversight of postsecondary distance education. As such, the University is permitted to offer online programs to residents of states approved as SARA members without having to seek state approval.

As of March 31, 2017, there are 48 SARA members: 47 states plus the District of Columbia. To view a map of states approved as SARA members please see the NC-SARA Directory.

National Council for State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements | Approved Institution

Status by State

Case Western Reserve University is permitted to operate under the terms of SARA, authorized, exempt, or not subject to approval in the following states/territories: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia*, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico*, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, U.S. Virgin Islands*, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

*Considered states for the purposes of SARA.

Complaint Resolution

Higher education institutions delivering courses by distance education are required to provide the contact information for official entities or agencies within each state designated to handle complaint resolution. States are required by the US Department of Education (34 CFR 668.43(b)) to have a complaint process available to any enrolled or prospective student.

For access to further information relating to internal and external complaint resolution and specific to each state, please visit

Admissions Deadlines

Priority Deadline
June 24
Fall 2024 Term
Final Deadline
July 26
Fall 2024 Term
Start Date
August 26
Fall 2024 Term

Case Western Reserve University has engaged Everspring, a leading provider of education and technology services, to support select aspects of program delivery.